

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 05, 2016 CONTACT: Benjamin Suarato 202-225-5464

## \*\*\*ADVISORY\*\*\*

# Rep. Chu to Host 7th Annual Congressional Women of the Year Awards Ceremony

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Rep. Judy Chu (CA-27) announced the names of 14 women from across the San Gabriel Valley who will receive the Congressional Women of the Year Award. The award, now in its 7<sup>th</sup> year, will be given out at a ceremony at **10:00 am** at the **San Gabriel Masonic Temple** on **April 16, 2016**.

#### The 2016 Honorees are:

- Laura Tellez Gagliano (Alhambra) Ed.D Superintendent Alhambra Unified School District
- **Denise Houlemard Jones** (Altadena/Pasadena) Community Activist
- Alice Wang (Arcadia) Arcadia Library Commissioner
- Nancy Mintie (Claremont) Executive Director, Uncommon Good
- **Doris Blum** (Glendora) Former Board Member, Glendora Unified School District
- Maria Elena Yepes (Monterey Park) Director, Learning Assistance Center at East Los Angeles College
- **Dorothy Edwards** (Pasadena) Homeless Advocate
- Sheri Bonner (Pasadena) President & CEO, Planned Parenthood Pasadena & San Gabriel Valley
- Carolin Eng (Rosemead/San Gabriel) Chief Operation Officer, Herald Christian Health Center
- Linda Sun (San Marino) CPA Managing Partner Sun Accountancy Corp.
- Sylvia Ramos (Sierra Madre) Realtor Ramos & Ramos Real Estate Group, Century21 Village
- Linda Hess (South Pasadena) Founder, Urban Harvester
- **Helen Chen Marston** (Temple City) Real Estate Professional
- **Hilda Kennedy** (Upland) Founder/President, AmPac Tri State Certified Development Company

### WHEN:

Saturday, April 16, 2016 10:00 AM – 1:00 PM

#### WHERE:

San Gabriel Masonic Temple 278 S Mission Dr. San Gabriel, CA 91776